Cambridge – What an interesting place

Having weekends off is just about the best thing ever.  Since I finished working weekends a couple of weeks ago I have done something each day. Today we went to Cambridge to take Connor to his samba band, Arco Iris, who were busking around Cambridge for the afternoon.

So me and my partner Jean-paul said we would drive him there and while he was drumming around Cambridge we would do a little exploring, we had not been there for many years.  I had forgotten what a beautiful place it is.  The buildings are old, very cultural and well kept.  There are building sites in and around the city but no derelict places, or eyesores.

IMG_0020

Christ Church Cambridge

It’s a very old place too, there was a beautiful classical building which houses Cambridge’s treasures.  This huge place was fronted by a huge amount of pillars which stood at least 25 feet.  It was a place we really wanted to go into but ran out of time, but we had wandered around for nearly 2 hours, went into a few shops, I bought a cosy knitted scarf from SuperDry.  There were lots of clothes we could have bought but decided not to allow ourselves to be impulse buyers, so I just stuck with the scarf and felt very happy with my purchase.  JP said it looks great with my new haircut, and I love it too.  upload8492786348358275876

It feels good to be able to afford something with a bit of quality about it. This scarf is so thick, it kept my little ears warm.  The weather today was really cold, the ice was still in the puddles in the afternoon, I know because I nearly slipped over and made a tit of myself!

One last thing I would like to say about Cambridge is that the people are really nice.  We have traveled to Norwich on several occasions when Connor was in Norwich Samba, and although the band were all lovely to him, the people of Norwich were not very chatty, quite miserable, and the shop assistants were grumpy as hell.  Cambridge is totally different.  All the shop assistants were polite, kind and extremely helpful.  Anyone who bumped into us said sorry, we said sorry back.  If we walked in front of a bike they didn’t curse or get annoyed but just nodded in recognition that we are idiots!

IMG_0023

Connor & Band in the distance

Thanks Cambridge for a good day out, we ate yummy food, JP had a burger which cost £6.  I know costly right, but he did say it was the best burger he has ever had.  And he knows his burgers!  I had a cappuccino and a warmed almond and chocolate muffin, equally good from the Jamaica Place (it’s called something like that?).

We said we hope to go back soon to go in all the other shops we didn’t get a chance to go in.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

